Citizens of the Year

Each year, the Auburn Rotary Club recognizes a local resident as its “Citizen of the Year.” In some instances, a couple, a business or organization has received this honor. Citizens of the year are honored for their contributions to the betterment of the Auburn community through their work in their particular vocation, or contributions made to the general Auburn community.

Citizen of the Year 2016 Lolly Steiner
Lolly Steiner, Citizen of the Year 2016

As the president of the Auburn Chamber of Commerce, Lolly Steiner is an advocate for our community. Supporting local business is not just a profession---without a doubt, it is Lolly's passion.

Auburn Rotarians nominate candidates for this honor, which is bestowed annually each spring. Nominations are reviewed by the club's Citizen of the Year Committee, which makes a recommendation to the club's board concerning that year's honoree.

Those recognized by the club with this special honor are also presented with a Paul Harris Fellowship. Below are those individuals, couples, businesses and organizations that have been honored by the Auburn Rotary Club. When available, details of the honoree's award presentation can be found by clicking the honoree's name.

If you have someone you'd like to recognize and nominate for their outstanding service to their community, please contact a Rotarian and let them know!

Past Recipients of the Auburn Rotary Club Citizen of the Year Award

2015Dr. Mary Burkhart
2014Ted Wilson
2013Mike Kosolapoff
2012Bill Ham - Mayor of Auburn
2011The Jule Collins Smith Museum of Fine Art
2010Dr. Dell Crosby & Mercy Medical Clinic
2009Dr. David and Debbie Smalley
2008Rev. Cliford Jones
2007Dr. J. Terry Jenkins
2006David Marsh
2005Frank Tolbert
2004Dr. George H. Mathison
2003Martha Faupel
2002Dr. Jimmy Matthews and Carolyn Matthews
2001Dr. J. Wayne Flynt
2000Dr. Taylor Littleton
1999Pete B. Turnham
1998Dr. Douglas J. Watson
1997James K. Haygood Jr.
1996Dr. Edward R. Richardson
1995Lee Co. Habitat for Humanity
1994Dr. James E. Foy
1993Dr. H.C. Morgan
1992East Alabama Medical Center
1991The Rev. Charles Britt
1990Ed and Sally Bagwell
1989Tommy Goff
1988Neill Davis
1987Jan Dempsey
1986C.H. McGehee
1985Dr. Wilford Bailey
1984Dr. John Jeffers
1983Auburn National Bank
Citizen of the Year 2014 Ted Wilson Citizen of the Year 2013 Mike Kosolapoff 2012 Citizen of the Year 2011 Citizen of the Year 2008 Citizen of the Year 2009 Citizen of the Year

Rotary Community Grants

In 2017, the Auburn Rotary Club awarded $31,050 in grants back to the community.

Find out about that program.

Thank you to our 2016 Citizen of the Year

Lolly Steiner

Read more »

The Auburn, Alabama Rotary Club meets each Wednesday at noon in the banquet room of the Saugahatchee Country Club:

3800 Bent Creek Rd
Opelika, AL 36804
Phone: 334-749-3441

Committed to Humanitarian Service, High Ethical Standars in All Vocations, Peace & Goodwill